India (IN)

Jurisdiction Overview

204 *Are Trusts available? BOTH: Domestic trust law and administration of foreign law trusts.
 Data Date: 2017


The Global Forum reports: "India allows for the creation and operation of trusts.[...]. The Trusts Act 1882 defines and governs the law relating to private trusts and their trustees." (GF 2011: 28). There are four categories of trusts: private trusts, charitable trusts, wakfs and trusts established under foreign laws which have some activity in India (GF 2013: 43; GF 2017: 41).


GF 2010: 28, GF 2013: 43
GF 2017: 41